About Us

Founded in January 2006, the Association of Law Firm Diversity Professionals (ALFDP) is a not-for-profit association of law firm professionals working in the area of diversity and inclusion.

ALFDP’s mission is to act as a catalyst for the advancement of diversity and inclusion in the legal profession through our collective knowledge, vision, expertise and advocacy in the arena of law firm diversity. As a collaborative organization, we work towards the common goals of advancing diversity and inclusion within our own organizations and within the legal profession as a whole by sharing important information and experiences, and learning from one another.

Who Participates in ALFDP?
Diversity and Inclusion Professionals in law firms, for example:
• Diversity and Inclusion Partners
• Diversity and Inclusion Counsel
• Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officers
• Diversity and Inclusion Directors
• Diversity and Inclusion Managers
• Diversity and Inclusion Specialists and Coordinators
• Other Diversity and Inclusion Professionals

ALFDP Goals
• Promote the professional growth and development of our members
• Establish and maintain ethical standards for the profession
• Liaise with organizations focused on diversity and inclusion
• Conduct educational programs
• Sponsor and conduct research

Membership Benefits
• Network with diversity and inclusion professionals for information, advice, and support
• Participate in national conferences and regional meetings that bring together nationally acclaimed experts in diversity training, legal issues, recruiting, retention, advancement, and professional development
• Attend our conferences and webinars
• Share best practices
• Receive mentoring as a junior diversity and inclusion professional
• Gain access to basic information for new diversity professionals and continuing education for seasoned professionals
• Solicit and receive advice and information through our member-only listserv, webpage, conference calls, and individual outreach calls
• Receive our membership directory

Board of Directors
ALFDP is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of eight members: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Financial Secretary, President Emeritus and three members-at-large. The members of the Board of Directors are responsible for the administration and organization of the Association, with semi-annual reporting responsibilities to the membership. Our current board members are:

President
Lia Dorsey
Dentons US LLP
Lia.dorsey@dentons.com

Vice-President
Kia Scipio
Ropes & Gray LLP
Kia.scipio@ropesgray.com

Secretary
Sharla Toller
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
stoller@cgsh.com

Treasurer
Bernard Guinyard
Goodwin Procter LLP
bguinyard@goodwinlaw.com

Financial Secretary
Marredia Crawford
Baker McKenzie​​​
marredia.crawford@bakermckenzie.com

Board Member-At-Large
Jessica Maroney Shillito
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
Jessica.shillito@stblaw.com

Board Member-At-Large
Courtney Dredden Carter
Jenner & Block LLP
ccarter@jenner.com

Board Member-At-Large
Yusuf Zakir
Holland & Knight LLP
yusuf.zakir@hklaw.com

Historian
Pauline Vesleno
Goodwin Procter LLP
pvesleno@goodwinlaw.com

President Emeritus
Caroline Abney
King & Spalding LLP
cabney@kslaw.com

ALFDP Conference 2017